Testing Pinterest Recipes #1: Loaded Chicken and Potato Casserole

Hello beauties!

This afternoon, while on Pinterest, I decided to look for something to make for dinner because I was hungry and bored of sitting around. I decided after awhile to make something with chicken, and pulled some out of the freezer to defrost. While my chicken was defrosting I really began searching for a recipe when I finally decided on loaded chicken and potato casserole.

Click here for the original blog post!

When I decided to make this recipe (and knowing I needed to post on here) I decided to do a post testing the recipe out. While a lot of recipes you find on Pinterest work, a lot of them don’t. To save you the time, I’ll try it out first! On a side note, I didn’t have all of the exact ingredients and I put my own spin on some things.

First, I to cook the bacon I decided to cook it in the oven instead of a frying pan. I set the oven to350º and because our oven runs a little bit hotter, that would be similar to 375º. I honestly didn’t time this, you just leave it in until it’s done. IMG_0865

Second, I washed and peeled my potatoes, using regular potatoes instead of using red potatoes, and since it was for just me and my dad, I used 3 medium sized potatoes. I made one for my dad and I, and I made another one for my mom, omitting the potatoes because of an allergy. After the potatoes were washed and peeled I sprayed a Pyrex baking dish and diced the potatoes up to put in.

Third, I took the bacon out of the oven, and it was really, really crispy (but hey, easy to crumble!). I crumbled the bacon and threw it in the dish with the potatoes. After that, I took my chicken out of the microwave and cut it into small pieces and threw all of that in the pan too. I used about one and a half chicken breasts on the one with potatoes and one chicken breast on the one without potatoes. After everything was in the dish, I stirred it up.

Fourth, I shredded cheese and threw it in the pan. I wish I knew how much I used because I felt like it was the perfect amount, but I didn’t measure because I shredded it myself. I know that it was a light amount because my dad isn’t a huge fan of cheese. Next, I scooped two tablespoons of coconut oil into the bigger dish and one tablespoon into the smaller dish. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil because I didn’t have any. For spices, I used sea salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and chives. Because I only used what was in my kitchen, I didn’t have hot sauce, paprika, or green onion.

Lastly, I cranked the oven up 25º, tossed the dishes in and set the timer for 50 minutes.The original post said that it would take an hour, and honestly, it did. Here’s the final product and then I’ll give you my taste test review.

Final verdict: This was delicious. SO good! My dad and I ate our whole dish, and my mom ate half of her’s until she was full. We definitely will make this again; however, with little to no oil because it was too greasy. 10/10 will make again & I suggest you make it!

XOXO, Grace

Leave a Reply

